Skip to main content

New leadership roles for MVTA commissioners

Feb 2, 2024 2:17 pm

Burnsville City Councilmember Dan Kealey was elected as chair of the Minnesota Valley Transit Authority Board of Commissioners at the organization’s January 31 board meeting.

Kealey began serving as the Burnsville representative on the MVTA Board in 2010. The past two years he’s served as the board’s vice chair. He takes over for Kevin Burkart, councilmember from Prior Lake, who served as MVTA Board Chair in 2022 and 2023.

In addition to serving on the Burnsville City Council and MVTA Board, Kealey was appointed Chair of the National League of Cities (NLC) 2024 Transportation and Infrastructure Services Committee and will serve on the NLC Board of Directors. Kealey will provide strategic direction and guidance for NLC’s federal advocacy agenda and policy priorities on transportation including roads, bridges, transit, rail, and aviation. In addition, Kealey has worked on the I-35W Solutions Alliance, and the Metro Cities Policy Committee – Transportation & General Government.

After the gavel was passed at the January MVTA Board Meeting, Kealey credited Burkart for his leadership the past two years.

“Kevin helped guide MVTA through the Covid 19 Pandemic and has put MVTA on solid footing for future growth,” Kealey said. “He has been a strong advocate for both MVTA and the Suburban Transit Association.”

The MVTA Board of Commissioners is comprised of eight elected representatives from the communities MVTA serves in the south metro. MVTA is the public transportation provider for the cities of Apple Valley, Burnsville, Eagan, and Rosemount in Dakota County, and Prior Lake, Savage, and Shakopee in Scott County.

Stacy Crakes, councilmember from Savage, was elected to serve as vice chair in 2024. Rosemount Councilmember Paul Essler will serve as secretary/treasurer.

Burkart will continue to serve as a commissioner on the MVTA Board along with Clint Hooppaw, Apple Valley mayor, Gary Hansen, Eagan councilmember, Jay Whiting, Shakopee councilor, and Jon Ulrich, Scott County Commissioner.

For additional information about MVTA, go online to or call MVTA customer service at 952-882-7500.